

STATE OF NEVADA ADVISORY COUNCIL FOR PROSECUTING ATTORNEYS 100 North Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Kyle George, First Assistant Attorney General aginfo@ag.nv.gov 702-486-3420

MEETING MINUTES

Organization: Advisory Council for Prosecuting Attorneys

Date and Time of Meeting: August 14, 2019 • 11:00 a.m.

Place of Meeting: Video Conferenced Between:

Attorney General's Office Mock Courtroom Room 100 N. Carson Street Carson City, Nevada Attorney General's Office Sawyer Building, Room 3315 555 E. Washington Avenue Las Vegas, Nevada

Members Present via Teleconference:

Aaron D. Ford, Attorney General, Chair Kyle George, Special Assistant Attorney General A.J. Delap, Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Chris Hicks, Washoe County District Attorney Robert Sweetin, Mesquite City Attorney Steve Wolfson, Clark County District Attorney

Guests Present:

Ronda Holm, Attorney General's Office

- 1. Call to Order and Roll Call.
- 2. **Public Comment.** Discussion only. Action may not be taken on any matter brought up under this agenda item, until scheduled on the agenda of a future meeting for possible action.

None

3. **Approval of minutes of June 25, 2019 meeting.** (For possible action). (Attachment One (1) – Minutes from June 25, 2019 Meeting).

Chris Hicks moved to approve the minutes of the June 25, 2019 meeting and Robert Sweetin seconded the motion, with no opposition, the minutes were approved.

4. **Prosecutor of the Year in 2019: Bill Raggio Award. (For possible action).** Discussion of nominees for the 2019 Bill Raggio Award, and selection of the winner(s). (Attachment Two (2) – Nomination Package).

Attorney General Ford presented the nominees and a discussion was held about each of the 3 nominations one was nominated by Second Assistant Attorney General Christine Jones Brady, she nominated our Chief of Prosecutions Michael Kovac. Mr. Kovac has respectfully requested to withdraw his name from the vote. The other two nominations come from Steve Wolfson and who has nominated Jennifer Noble from the Washoe County District Attorneys Office and John Jones, Jr., from the Clark County District Attorneys Office. AG Ford stated he has read all the nominations and felt they were all quite compelling with that said he opened up the discussion and potentially for a motion on who we should award. As a reminder at the last meeting, we can nominate and accept two recipients for this award this year. Mr. Wolfson feels they are extremely deserving, based upon the work they did at this Legislative session as well as previous ones. Mr. Wolfson moves that they be awarded the Bill Raggio award. AG Ford noted that Sean Rowe from Mineral County also nominated John and Jenny as well. AJ Delap would also concur with their nominations wholeheartedly. Chris Hicks would like to second Steve Wolfson's motion to present John and Jenny the Bill Raggio award.

AG Ford stated that a motion and a Second to nominate and select Jenny Noble and John Jones, Jr. to be the recipients of the Bill Raggio Award.

No further discussion, no opposition, the vote was unanimous to select John Jones, Jr. and Jenny Noble the Bill Raggio award.

5. Public Comment.

Discussion Only. Action may not be taken on any matter brought up Public comment shall be limited to five (5) minutes per person. Action may not be taken on any matter brought up under this agenda item, until scheduled on the agenda of a future meeting for possible action

None

6. Adjournment.

Motion to Adjourn by Chris Hicks, Seconded by AJ Delap. Meeting ended at 11:10 am.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Ronda Holm, Supervising Legal Secretary